Thank you for feedback

Thanks for your feedback, it has been very useful.

Just to let you know that I do really read it and take your thoughts and comments into account:

  • I will do a blog again if I lecture this course next year (those who read it seemed to find it very useful.)
  • I will work on my handwriting (perhaps I just need to find pens that suit me better…)
  • Most of you seemed to find the three screens beneficial, so I’ll stick with that.
  • I have decided to give you access to my lecture notes.

Here are some books people found useful:

  • Abstract Algebra, Pinter
  • Algebra and Geometry, Beardon
  • Groups and Symmetry, Armstrong
  • Algebra, Artin
  • Sets and Groups: a first course in Algebra, Green
  • Introduction to Group Theory, Lederman
  • Visual group theory, Carter
  • Abstract Algebra, Dummit and Foote
  •  Algebra, Lang  (third edition)

Note that some of these do go a lot further than our lecture course.

Someone said “The King James Bible” was useful 🙂 Personally I prefer the New International Version, but then that might be a matter of taste. (Thanks for making me smile anyway.)

Leave a Reply

